Spring Break Trip 2019 | New Orleans – Day #3

My friends and I left our host home and drove to church. We were to meet that morning at the parking lot to load our luggage into the buses. There were about six mega-buses which would carry approximately 300 students and my bus had two life groups on it. A life group is a group of people who do bible study together and disciple each other weekly. So, basically my mini-family out of the whole church group which meant that I did not really know half of the people in my bus because they belonged to another life group.

Sunday

7:00 am

We left the parking lot and drove to New Orleans. The trip there was not boring at all. The college staff had planned out things we could do in the bus will we were on transit. We did our quiet time with Jesus and then we had 2 bus captains that were in charge of making sure we stayed on schedule. They read out silly Christian pick-up lines and some dad jokes that were really lame but fun as well. We also stopped at Bucee’s at around 10 am to have breakfast and stretch our legs and then we continued our journey. At some point on the bus, we did ‘Affirmation Station’ which is a time where the bus captains choose someone to affirm and then any 3-4 persons had to say something that they loved about that person and encourage them. This went on for a while and it was lovely to hear different people say wonderful things about others. Then, we partnered with the person beside us and prayed for vision about our mission in New Orleans and for the people who live there.

To be honest, I put in some hours of sleep here and there throughout the trip. Hehehe.

3:00 pm

We arrived at the hotel, got our keys and our luggage and went to our rooms to relax for a few hours before we had to go down for dinner. I had two roommates how I got to know really well throughout the trip and are now good friends of mine. During that time, I called my mum and told her that we had arrived safely.

5:45 pm

We went downstairs to have dinner at the hotel because the hotel provided free dinner as well as breakfast. After dinner, my roommates and I decided to walk out of the hotel and we found a little ice cream shop where we had ice cream and hung out for a bit. I did not want to buy ice cream #moneysavingstrategies and so I declined but the lady was nice enough to give a tiny scoop of free ice cream. I know some of you reading this are already shouting…what is it?? Can’t I save again??

peep my free ice cream. God is so good!!

Afterward, we came back to the hotel and had a Welcome rally in the hall at the hotel. This was when we were given specifics about tomorrow and an idea of what was happening over the next few days.

I’ll update you on that soon enough…NEXT: TO BED!!

Leave a comment